Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

I’ve now been in Northern Ireland for almost two weeks. Strange, right? It most definitely doesn’t feel that long. However, in this short amount of time I’ve managed to get around to quite a few places on the Emerald Isle.

When I arrived, I was surprised to find the weather quite favorable. I expected rain, but it was sunny and has been since we arrived. Each time I think that, I realize that surely at some point our luck will run out, and we will have miserable rain for weeks on end.

The second thing I noticed, before I even made it through customs, was the wind turbines. I cannot even begin to explain to you how happy I was to see wind power. The fact that I continually see this makes me ridiculously at peace.

After finding one of the staff members from the International Department and the other international students who came on my flight, we loaded up and went to campus only to find that we could not get into our rooms until 14:00, which was a problem as it was only 9:30. Instead, as a first activity, the other students from my flight and I went to the nearby seaside park.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
The sea is only a few minutes walk away from my campus.

That first day I was really just happy to get into my room and relax. The highlight of moving in was finding out that one of my flatmates happens to also love Rise Against.

The next several days brought about a pretty tedious orientation schedule, in which I learned that classes actually start a whole week later than I had previously thought. This was great news, because it means more time to explore!

Two days after arriving I joined some of the other international students in Belfast for the first time. On this trip, I met “Twin,” who is also a double-major in math and economics. Why is this worth mentioning? Because I have never met anyone who is also interested in both of these subjects and the type of work I’d like to do after college. It’s crazy to think that we found each other here even though she is from Minnesota and studies in Iowa (not so far from Missouri).

Anyway, we walked around Belfast for the evening, passing both the illuminated City Hall and Merchant Hotel, and dining at the Alley Cat which featured some interesting graffiti decor.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Belfast City Hall
Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Merchant Hotel
Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Inside the Alley Cat

The night went pretty well, but I was still clearly exhausted. Twin and I caught a taxi back to campus. I have to say the next night was much more enjoyable, as I met more international students who weren’t American, and I had some pretty good conversations with a few Germans who seemed baffled that I am a woman studying mathematics. I guess there are a lot of things I don’t notice while going to a women’s college….

Saturday was my first excursion out and about in Northern Ireland. All of the international students went to Giant’s Causeway and the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. I definitely preferred Giant’s Causeway. The views were stunning from the start. Instead of trying to narrate the day, I’m just going to share some photos. Though, I must advise you to keep in mind that these photos absolutely do not do it justice!

Carrick-a-Rede was interesting, but I was unimpressed by the rope bridge. I thought it would be longer or higher up. It’s also gorgeous, but was less gorgeous than Giant’s Causeway in my honest opinion.

Thus concludes week one in Northern Ireland! Sunday night was a good dinner at SoZo’s. Monday was generally uneventful. But Tuesday, Tuesday it got real. I went up to Portrush with a friend. While he was surfing, I read The Essential Gandhi on the beach. Yeah, surfing is a big thing there, with wet suits of course. And yeah, I was reading Gandhi’s writings on a beach… Typical me.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Surfers under a clear sky at Portrush’s West Strand.

When the beach adventure concluded, we went to Dunluce Castle, a recommendation from a friend who previously did the same study abroad program.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

We took a bit of an adventure around the castle and the cove below. One thing that struck me as interesting is that people here are more likely to just jump a fence and do as they will, but leave no trash and take only photos with them. In the States I feel like people are more likely to trespass just to destroy things and break the law. It’s interesting to think about how Europeans seem to live in harmony with their surroundings whereas Americans just fence them off and destroy them despite the barriers in place.

As beautiful as the ruins, beaches, and general countryside are, the city of Belfast and its people are just as unique and vibrant! Friday night was Culture Night, and I must say I’ve never seen such a party. Everyone just seemed to be having a good time together as historic and modern Belfast became one.

In one area, I couldn’t help but to get way too excited about the graffiti art covering every surface. There were several local graffiti artists even creating work in the midst of the celebration.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

 

I had a great time running around the city with the other international students. One of the best gems we found that night was a bar filled to the brim with Guinness memorabilia. It was really something to look at.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Twin and I in the bar… or pub? I don’t know Irish lingo…

There were other events filling the evening including…

One thing I noted during Culture Night is that it was a pretty open event. People were drinking, dancing, and having a really good time as children simultaneously ran around. I don’t feel like I’ve even been at an event in the States where it was acceptable for adults to consume alcohol if children were present.

I find that I am enjoying this laid back Northern Irish culture much more than the uptight American culture. People here were also just drinking for leisure whereas at home, I feel like Americans drink to excess more often than not with the goal of getting drunk. There is definitely a drinking culture here, but I’m surprisingly enjoying being around it.

To round out my story of my first two weeks in Northern Ireland, I have to share what I did yesterday. I went with three other international students to hike Cave Hill. Situated at the base of Cave Hill is Belfast Castle. When you get to the top, you can see the city of Belfast to the right, up to Jordanstown (including my Uni) on the left, and the sea. On a clear day you can even see across the sea to Scotland, though we didn’t really have quite that much luck.

Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Belfast Castle
Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Twin and I at Belfast Castle, pre-hike.
Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
Finally made it to the top!
Two Weeks on the Emerald Isle
View of Belfast

So, in summary, I am still alive up here. I’ve been enjoying my free time these past two weeks, and earlier today I had my first class, in which I was the only female. Feels weird after going to a women’s college, but I’m dealing with it.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

