Day One, Two, Three….

Day one.

Wake up, go to “History of Economics.” The lecture is only two hours followed by a one hour tutorial. This day was a short one. What did I get out of it? Economists like to argue.

There were only five students in my class, and I was the only female. This felt so weird. Sick with a cold, so I then spent the afternoon relaxing and met our final mysterious flat mate. Went for a few groceries, followed by a mandatory residential services presentation. Then I crashed into a deep sleep.

Day two.

Sick still. Went to “Fractals, Chaos, and Complex Systems.” Listened to a quite hilarious applied mathematician poke fun at pure mathematicians, especially topologists. One of my professors in the States is a topologist so I found this extremely amusing. Once again, only five students were in this class, but it was a mix of genders. This is a three hour lecture with a three hour lab on select Fridays.

After class, Twin and I went to the library to get our “fish and chips” textbook, along with my economics textbooks. I’m pretty happy with the fact that two out of my three classes thus far do not require me to purchase any textbooks.  (In case you’re wondering what a “fish and chips” book is, you’ll need to check out the cover of William Flake’s The Computational Beauty of Nature. I thought it was a clever nickname.)

I then spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing, still attempting to conquer this cold.

Day three. Today.

Surprisingly, I have no classes on Wednesdays. This creates a nice relaxing rest day right in the middle of the week, and who couldn’t dig that? So what have I done? Well….

I met up with Twin and three of the German guys to head into the city. Once we arrived, Twin and I signed up for yLink cards, the youth discount system for the train and bus system here. I’m looking forward to having that in 7-10 days.

We also went to the Visit Belfast store and I bought myself two mugs for tea (lots of chamomile with honey right now) and hot chocolate. One of them has the filming locations from Game of Thrones in the shape of the Iron Throne.

Day One, Two, Three....

Then, we went towards the shopping district and, at long last, purchased some phones. So yes, I am back to being connected to civilization! I wasn’t planning on it, but it seems that the benefits (telling flat mates that I’m not dead, coordinating meeting points, getting a late night taxi, etc.) outweigh the cost (£70).

Day One, Two, Three....
Guess what?

And then… There was this thing I did… Well, I think it will surprise quite a few people… But…

I got my cartilage pierced! Did you see that one coming?

Day One, Two, Three....

No, you didn’t see it coming. And neither did I. I’ve been wanting to do it for a while, but I didn’t think it would be today! I’m still letting it sink in.

Anyway, we wandered around Belfast, took in the murals, ate dinner, saw a giant fish, and then came on home.

It’s been a pretty chill day, but now I need to get ready for more studying and my next class tomorrow.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

