When a Tree Was a Cactus

This post is a part of looking back at my time in Oaxaca.

On our second weekend of excursions we visited Yagul. Well… Not all of Yagul. It was a city, and the archaeological site we visited was basically just the city centre, though I suppose there is always more to see if you have the time.

A few things about this day really caught my attention. First of all, it wasn’t quite so hot. It was warm, but only just so with clouds and a light breeze. Second, for the first time in my life I thought, “This desert is gorgeous.” Not that I’ve had a lot of experience with deserts. I just never really got the beauty of this version of Mexico until I took in the flora and mountain background. Third, cactuses grow into trees.

Okay, that last point sounds somewhat outlandish, but it’s true! Cactuses can grow into trees with trunks that have the appearance of rough, brown bark. Their leaves look like giant, thorny paddles. And there were a lot of them at Yagul which, to me, just felt weird.

Cactus Trees

Anyway… The city center in Yagul was made out of these stone walls, which reminded me a lot of the stones that we have in the Ozarks. The paths even made me feel like I was walking some familiar paths back in Missouri.

Yagul

Just like Monte Albán, there was a ball court. Also like both Monte Albán and Mitla, there were tunnels that went under the city, although we didn’t get to go in these.

However, perhaps one of my favorite parts of this day was going up the hill by this city. We climbed it partially. There were fragments of broken pottery still littering the ground, exposed years later by the storms that visited the area basically every afternoon (seriously, we were learning the art of avoiding them, although we were soaked more than once).

When our group got up halfway, we stopped at a lookout point. Below us was the valley, with Yagul city centre to the right, and farms all around. Mountains under a cloudy but quieting sky completed the look for me. It may sound weird, but I love it when the clouds are gray and moody like that.

Yagul Pano

So that was my grand visit to Yagul. It may not seem that exciting, but it was the most relaxed of the excursions we took. (Yes, “relaxed” and “excursion” just appeared together in the same sentence.)

Cheers!

One thought on “When a Tree Was a Cactus

Leave a Reply

