My First Hike in Germany!

I’ve been so busy lately getting into the routine of graduate school. At this point, I really need a mental break, so here is my first (catch-up) post from the last few weeks. Two weeks ago I traveled to Kempten to watch my friends that I met in Northern Ireland graduate.

The next day we luckily had wonderful weather, so I went down to the Austrian border for a hike by the Alps. We parked in Jungholz, Austria, which is just over the border. Then we hiked up a big hill, which I’m pretty sure most people back home in the Ozarks would classify as a mountain. In comparison to the actual mountains, this was nothing.

The view looking north, towards Kempten.
The view looking north, towards Kempten.

The place we were heading is called Reuter Wanne. It’s just north of the German-Austrian border there. According to its Wikipedia article, Reuter Wanne is 1,541 meters (5,056 feet) high. The elevation of Jungholz is 1,054 meters (3,458 feet), which makes up a difference of 487 meters (1,598 feet).

Although this hike is not difficult by any means in comparison to the ones you might face hiking up the Alps, I, as a Midwesterner who can’t even fully comprehend the size of the Alps, found myself huffing and puffing to the top.

Snow!
Snow!

A really exciting side note about this hike: It was only the 24 of October, but it already snowed up on Reuter Wanne! So yes, I played in the snow a bit. I also enjoyed its coolness as I was very hot by time we got up to that part.

Looking south, towards Austria.
Looking south, towards Austria.

Despite the huffing and puffing, the view from the top was completely worth it! Looking north you could see the land flatten out as towns and cities, like Kempten, popped out against the landscape. When you turned south, it was a full-on Alps view.

Hands Up!

So that’s my first adventure in the Alpine region! Since I got good feedback about using Google maps in the last post to provide context, I’ll try to do that when possible.

In this map you can see Jungholz, where we parked, and Reuter Wanne, the hiking destination. I’d recommend it as a nice beginning trail if you’ve also never really hiked up mountains. And yes, you’d technically be walking across national borders!

Cheers!

One thought on “My First Hike in Germany!

Leave a Reply

