Germany Thus Far: Two Months In

Has it been two months already? According to the calendar it has; therefore, it’s time for a status update on life thus far in Germany.

Travel

This month has been a pretty relaxed one in terms of travel. I’ve been hanging around Konstanz for the most part. Apart from that, I spent one day hiking in the Alps. A real hike in the Alps, to follow up on last month’s hike at the edge of the Alps.

Lake at the Top

Studies

My studies have been dominating my time. I have such an incredible amount of reading to do. Most days I feel like I’m drowning in academic journal articles and microeconomic proofs.

Very soon I have to hand in another paper and take my first midterm exams. Should be quite the experience!

German

Oh, the German… Deutsch is not an easy language to learn. Word order is throwing me for a loop in every assignment. I also have the problem that I’m always freezing up whenever I try to speak coherent sentences with native speakers.

Don’t get me wrong, though. There has been progress! I have completed several writing assignments for my German class, and they make sense! There are still word order problems, but I am retaining some vocabulary and verb conjugation rules.

Well, that’s all for this month’s update. Thanks for checking in with me.

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Germany Thus Far: Two Months In

  1. Aah, word order! Things that send verbs to the end so by the time you get there, you’ve forgotten what verb you were going to use in the first place! My German is mostly fluent now, but I still struggle sometimes. Do try to speak, even if it is scary. It will help 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the clean lines of your blog and your photos are fantastic! I’m not sure about the snow effect though!
    Your travel wish-list is inspired and Europe should keep you busy for a few years at least! 🙂
    Keep it up! Dookes

    Like

Leave a Reply

