Deutsch Donnerstag: Schnee!

Deutsch Donnerstag

Hallo! I’ve decided to start a new series called “Deutsch Donnerstag,” or “German Thursday.” On as many Thursdays as possible (I am a busy grad student after all) I will try to write a little snippet about some German that I learned during the week, or share a story about German gone wrong (it’s pretty easy to mess up).

To begin, I’m going to tell you the best word in the German language (that I know of so far; this is likely to change often). It’s Schnee.

Schnee means “snow.” It’s my favorite word right now because of both its meaning and awesome pronunciation.

You might think that it snows a ton over here in Germany. In some places, it does, but here by the Bodensee I actually don’t get a lot of Schnee. The lake keeps the air relatively warm and humid. The couple of times that it has snowed so far, it melted right away or quickly turned to rain, while people north of the lake got a nice dusting of Schnee. Needless to say, I’ve been so jealous.

My birthday is coming up on Sunday, so I’m traveling to Ulm to visit a Weihnachtsmarkt, or Christmas market, and have some Mexican food to celebrate! Perhaps I will get lucky and be able to run around in the Schnee at the Weihnachtsmarkt

Cheers!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Deutsch Donnerstag: Schnee!

      1. I found it a hard language to pronounce. I had a German friend teach me a few expressions a couple of decades ago (all of which I’ve now forgotten except for the one I mentioned before). Apparently, I sounded quite a lot like a cat coughing up a hairball.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is such a great concept, and I’m definitely going to remember the word for snow in German now. My only question is how to you pronounce it? Is the “ch” like “sh” or a hard “ch” like in chore. Thanks so much!

    Like

  2. I wish I was “lost” in Germany, too. My boyfriend studied there for a year and is always using German words. I started learning it and it was quite fun. Unfortunately, I have put it on hold for a bit. I like counting in German best especially when you get to the big numbers. I have quite gotten the guttural sound yet though. Hopefully I will when I pick it up again. 😊

    Like

  3. I love this idea for a post series! Schnee sounds funny when I say it in my head, but then again I’m probably pronouncing it wrong .. I learned some words while I was in Germany, but considering I was there for Oktoberfest, a lot of them have to do with drinking … PROST! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

