Another Birthday Abroad

I celebrated my twenty-third birthday this month in true Lynnae fashion: with Mexican food and Christmas markets.

I went to the Christmas market in Ulm and enjoyed my first ever Feuerzangenbowle. It’s a type of Glühwein with a little cube of sugar on top covered in rum and lit on fire. Luckily, I didn’t light myself on fire. Though, I did see one guy light his shoe on fire, so it seems to be easily done.

Afterwards, I went to Enchilada, one of the few Mexican restaurants that I’ve seen. It was pretty good, but not as good as the American-Mexican and Southwestern food that I can get back in the states. It was also nowhere near as good as the Mexican food that I had in Oaxaca. I quickly cleared my plate all the same.

I also went to the Ravensburg Christmas market on my birthday weekend. I was surprised at how big it was for a small town. While I was there, I had some yummy spring rolls.

RV Christmas Market
Ravensburg Christmas Market

Overall, I’d say I had a good variety of some of my favorite cuisines, including cooking my favorite lemon chicken and pasta. I also got to see some really festive Christmas-time celebrations in Germany.

After this weekend I had one major conclusion. I have missed people drinking in public and during the day like in Northern Ireland. And the strange thing is that even with the public drinking, it still feels more like a family event than anything I’ve been to in the States.

What do I think about birthdays abroad? Not so bad. Sure, I’m not with family, but at least I have a good view, though no view can beat last year’s.

Cheers!

One thought on “Another Birthday Abroad

Leave a Reply

